Vice President: Prof. Angela Hou Yung-chi

President: Dr. Jagannath Patil

Secretary/Treasurer: Prof. Li Yaogang

APQN Quality Award Ceremony in Taipei, Honours Champions of Quality Assurance

The inaugural edition of Asia Pacific Quality Network- APQN Quality Awards set up to mark decennial celebration of APQN was held in glittering function at historical 'HOTEL GRAND' of Chinese Taipei on 7th April 2013.

APQN Quality awards are instituted to encourage Quality Assurance Agencies [QAAs] and its experts who are doing outstanding work at national as well as international level. Efforts have been made to identify and distinguish extraordinary quality assurance contribution and good practices that have potential of replication among network.

Nominations were invited from APQN members in 10 different categories. APQN members responded enthusiastically and more than 45 nominations were received from above 27 member institutions. APQN Board constituted an international Jury with experts from Asia, Pacific and Europe to review and recommend winners. In the Board meeting held at Taipei on April 6th, APQN approved the list of winners and awards were given away on 7th April 2013, in a colourful ceremony along with APQN conference dinner hosted by TWAEA (Taiwan Assessment and Evaluation Association).

List of award winners is attached. The distinguished experts who gave away the awards included Prof. Asha Kanwar, President of Common Wealth of Learning (COL), TWAEA Chairman Dr. Victor W. Liu, and INQAAHE Past President Dr. David Woodhouse along with APQN Board Members including Prof. Angela Hou, Vice President APQN and APQN President Dr. Jagannath Patil who presided over the function.

APQN also used this occasion to acknowledge all its Office Bearers from 2003 to 2013 who contributed to the growth of APQN in their official capacity. Decennial Felicitations were awarded to all functionaries. APQN Stalwarts who were present to receive the honour included past Presidents Mr. Peter Cheung and Dr. Antony Stella, Past Secretary Prof. David Woodhouse, Past Vice- President Dr. Akihiko Kawaguchi, etc among others. Award certificates have been posted to other functionaries, who could not attend the ceremony.

The award winners, past functionaries and other members of APQN who graced the occasion complemented the new initiatives of APQN Quality Award and suggested continuation of these awards in future.

APQN President Dr. Jagannath Patil who pioneered this initiative of APQN Quality Awards, thanked APQN Board and membership for their hearty response to APQN Awards. Dr JP informed that APQN will continue to honour champions of quality assurance and promote good practices with sense of brotherhood among the network. He also complimented TWAEA for providing the grand venue for the launch of APQN Quality Awards. APQN plans to come out with a publication based on Award winning practices, said the President.

APQN Quality Award Winners, 2013

Category	Winner	Contact
Quality Information System	National Institution for Academic Degrees and University Evaluation (NIAD-UE), Japan	Dr. Kazuo Okamoto
APQN Vibrant QA Body Award	Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP), Philippines	Dr. Manuel Corpus
Student Participation in Quality Assurance	National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), India	Prof. H. A. Ranganath
International Focus	Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications (HKCAAVQ), Hong Kong	Prof. Yiu-Kwan Fan
Information & Communications Technology (ICT) in Quality Assurance	Shanghai Education Evaluation Institute (SEEI), China	Dr. Feng Hui & Dr. Meng Jie
Stakeholders engagement	Academic Quality Agency (AQA) for New Zealand Universities, New Zealand	Dr. Jan Cameron
Innovations in Quality Assurance	Quality Assurance & Accreditation Council (QAAC) of the University Grants Commission, Sri Lanka	Prof. Colin N. Peiris
APQN Best Internal QA Award	Fu Jen Catholic University, Chinese Taipei	Prof. Vincent Han-Sun Chiang
	Institute of Business Management, Karachi, Pakistan	Prof. Muhammad Moin Uddin Ali Khan
	Prof. Vladimir Navodnov from National Centre of Public Accreditation (NCPA), Russia	Prof. Vladimir Navodnov
APQN Quality Champions Award	Prof. Channarong Pornrungroj from the Office for National Education Standards and Quality Assessment (Public Organization), Thailand	Prof. Channarong Pornrungroj